Chemistry : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Author:
Published:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2017.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
ISBN:
9781524731748, 1524731749
Physical Desc:
211 pages ; 22 cm.
Status:
SSCL Bud Adult Fiction
FIC WANG
Description
Named by The Washington Post as a Notable Work of Fiction in 2017 and by Entertainment Weekly as a Best Debut Novel of 2017 Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR, Ann Patchett on PBS NewsHour, Minnesota Public Radio, Maris Kreizman, and The Morning News National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" Honoree Longlisted for the Aspen Words Literary Prize A luminous coming-of-age novel about a young female scientist who must recalibrate her life when her academic career goes off track; perfect for readers of Lab Girl and Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You. Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator of this nimbly wry, concise debut finds her one-time love for chemistry is more hypothesis than reality. She's tormented by her failed research--and reminded of her delays by her peers, her advisor, and most of all by her Chinese parents, who have always expected nothing short of excellence from her throughout her life. But there's another, nonscientific question looming: the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist, whose path through academia has been relatively free of obstacles, and with whom she can't make a life before finding success on her own. Eventually, the pressure mounts so high that she must leave everything she thought she knew about her future, and herself, behind. And for the first time, she's confronted with a question she won't find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want? Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry--one in which the reactions can't be quantified, measured, and analyzed; one that can be studied only in the mysterious language of the heart. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a brilliant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the anxieties of finding a place in the world, and the sacrifices made for love and family.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
SSCL Bud Adult Fiction
FIC WANG
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Basalt Fiction
F WAN
On Shelf
Bemis Fiction
FICTION WANG,WEI
On Shelf
CMC Leadville Campus
PS3623 .A4585 C47 2017
On Shelf
EVLD Avon Public Library
FIC WAN
On Shelf
EVLD Eagle Public Library
FIC WAN
On Shelf
GCP Silt Fiction
FIC WAN CHE
On Shelf
GRC Granby Adult Fiction
FIC WAN
On Shelf
MCPLD Central Fiction
Fiction WANG Weike
On Shelf
MCPLD Fruita Adult
Fiction WANG Weike
On Shelf
Pitkin County Library
FICTION W2465ch
On Shelf
Summit-Breck Fiction
WAN
On Shelf
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Other Editions and Formats
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Wang, W. (2017). Chemistry: a novel. First edition. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Wang, Weike. 2017. Chemistry: A Novel. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Wang, Weike, Chemistry: A Novel. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Wang, Weike. Chemistry: A Novel. First edition. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a64c1036-b54e-4ec2-b26f-c62f2e16f427
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time May 29, 2019 03:02:08 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jun 16, 2019 01:51:50 AM

MARC Record

LEADER06907cam a2200937 i 4500
001ocn959535214
003OCoLC
00520171215113632.0
007ta
008161114s2017    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016038012
019 |a 986790341
020 |a 9781524731748 |q (hardback)
020 |a 1524731749 |q (hardback)
0248 |a 40027283354
035 |a (OCoLC)959535214 |z (OCoLC)986790341
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d YDX |d BTCTA |d BDX |d OCLCF |d ZQP |d HEV |d ILC |d CZA |d INR |d NUI |d OCLCO |d TXWAL |d YUS |d IBI |d BUR |d TXSCH |d OCLCQ |d HFU
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-us---
049 |a HFUA
05000 |a PS3623.A4585 |b C47 2017
08200 |a 813/.6 |2 23
084 |a FIC019000 |a FIC044000 |2 bisacsh
092 |a FICTION |b W2465ch
1001 |a Wang, Weike, |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2016062002 |e author.
24510 |a Chemistry : |b a novel / |c Weike Wang.
250 |a First edition.
264 1 |a New York : |b Alfred A. Knopf, |c 2017.
300 |a 211 pages ; |c 22 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
500 |a "This is a Borzoi Book published by Alfred A. Knopf"--Title page verso.
520 |a "A novel about a young Chinese woman whose graduate studies in chemistry go off track and lead her to discover the truths about her goals and desires"-- |c Provided by publisher.
520 |a "'You must love chemistry unconditionally.' When we meet the narrator of Weike Wang's taut debut novel, this is the credo she's striven to follow for most of her life. But now, three years into a graduate program at a demanding Boston university, she finds her onetime love for chemistry to be more hypothesis than reality. She is frustrated by reminders of her failed research from her peers, her advisor, and most of all her Chinese parents, who have expected nothing short of excellence from her since she was young. On top of all this looms the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist, whose path through academia has been free of obstacles, and with whom she can't make a life before finding her own success. The pressure of these volatile elements eventually mounts so high that she has no choice but to leave behind everything she thought she knew about her future--and herself. And for the first time, she's confronted with a problem she won't find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want? Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry--one in which the reactions can't be quantified and analyzed. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a vibrant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the sacrifices made for love and family, and the anxieties of finding your place in the world."--Jacket.
650 0 |a Women graduate students |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010118986.
650 0 |a Chinese |z United States |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85024238 |v Fiction. |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001562.
650 7 |a FICTION |x Literary. |2 bisacsh.
650 7 |a FICTION |x Contemporary Women. |2 bisacsh.
650 7 |a Chinese. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst00857169.
650 7 |a Women graduate students. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst01177716.
651 7 |a United States. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst01204155.
655 7 |a Romance fiction. |2 fast |0 (OCoLC)fst01921732.
655 7 |a Romance fiction. |2 lcgft |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026516.
907 |a .b5443113x |b multi |c - |d 170523 |e 190301
998 |a ba |a be |a cm |a cml |a (3)ev |a eva |a eve |a (2)gc |a (2)gcs |a (2)gr |a (2)grg |a (4)mp |a (2)mpf |a (2)mpm |a pc |a (2)ss |a (2)ssb |a su |a sub |b 171215 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 32
948 |a MARCIVE COMP, Feb 28, 2018
948 |a MARCIVE Q4, 2017
948 |a MARCIVE August, 2017
948 |a MARCIVE extract Aug 5, 2017
994 |a C0 |b HFU
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2019.02
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.01
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.b in 2017.12
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ing in 2017.09
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.09
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.b in 2017.05
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.click in 2017.09
995 |a Initial Bemis load m2btab.test019 in 2019.02
989 |a F WAN |d bafi |b 1440002695921 |e 08-07-2018 15:52 |f  - - |g - |h 6 |i 5 |j 38 |k 170626 |l $24.95 |m  |n 09-06-2018 14:23 |o - |p 741 |q 741 |t 0 |x 3 |1 .i110299383
989 |a FICTION WANG,WEI |d befic |b 31813005405260 |e 02-26-2019 11:27 |f  - - |g - |h 16 |i 0 |j 300 |k 190216 |l $27.45 |m  |n 03-19-2019 10:23 |o - |p 0 |q 0 |t 1 |x 0 |1 .i124127034
989 |a PS3623 .A4585 C47 2017 |d cml |b 1030003325353 |e  - - |f  - - |g - |h 0 |i 0 |j 18 |k 180604 |l $25.00 |m  |n  - - |o - |p 0 |q 0 |t 0 |x 0 |1 .i119450574
989 |a FIC |a WAN |d eva |b 1060006383287 |e 07-23-2018 15:15 |f  - - |g - |h 7 |i 0 |j 38 |k 170523 |l $24.95 |m  |n 08-09-2018 15:45 |o - |p 141 |q 141 |t 0 |x 2 |1 .i110072868
989 |a FIC |a WAN |d eve |b 1060006383535 |e 05-08-2019 11:50 |f  - - |g - |h 3 |i 0 |j 38 |k 170523 |l $24.95 |m  |n 05-28-2019 11:50 |o - |p 151 |q 151 |t 1 |x 1 |1 .i11007287x
989 |a FIC WAN CHE |d gcsfi |b 1220005739802 |e 04-24-2018 12:41 |f  - - |g - |h 3 |i 5 |j 38 |k 170919 |l $24.95 |m  |n 05-02-2018 14:35 |o - |p 10 |q 231 |t 0 |x 1 |1 .i113583679
989 |a FIC WAN |d grgaf |b 39948003040214 |e 09-08-2018 11:20 |f  - - |g - |h 4 |i 1 |j 4 |k 170519 |l $24.95 |m  |n 10-17-2018 14:16 |o - |p 10 |q 951 |t 0 |x 1 |1 .i110053886
989 |a Fiction WANG Weike |d mpfa |b 1090070502764 |e 08-29-2018 15:51 |f  - - |g - |h 6 |i 3 |j 4 |k 170523 |l $24.95 |m  |n 09-18-2018 19:05 |o - |p 126 |q 125 |t 0 |x 2 |1 .i11007063x
989 |a Fiction WANG Weike |d mpmf |b 1090070502773 |e 09-06-2018 16:50 |f  - - |g - |h 15 |i 1 |j 4 |k 170523 |l $24.95 |m  |n 09-24-2018 17:21 |o - |p 294 |q 294 |t 0 |x 7 |1 .i110070641
989 |a FICTION W2465ch |d pc |b 1130003651399 |e 07-11-2018 15:46 |f  - - |g - |h 3 |i 0 |j 2 |k 171215 |l $24.95 |m  |n 08-01-2018 16:25 |o - |p 743 |q 741 |t 0 |x 3 |1 .i117960111
989 |a FIC WANG |d ssbfi |b 1240051637198 |e 03-14-2019 16:56 |f  - - |g - |h 16 |i 3 |j 4 |k 170516 |l $13.72 |m  |n 03-22-2019 16:12 |o - |p 771 |q 771 |t 3 |x 8 |1 .i110006999
989 |a WAN |d subf |b 1200002346470 |e 12-31-2018 9:35 |f  - - |g - |h 6 |i 2 |j 4 |k 170613 |l $24.95 |m  |n 01-14-2019 9:08 |o - |p 831 |q 831 |t 0 |x 2 |1 .i110221321
908 |a .o16516977
988 |a .o16516977 |c 2 |j multi |f b |k a |x 170516 |y 170523 |z  |3 - |l mpmnb |l mpfnb
908 |a .o14458640
988 |a .o14458640 |c 2 |j ev |f b |k a |x 170427 |y  |z  |3 - |l ev
908 |a .o13489471
988 |a .o13489471 |c 1 |j gcsnb |f b |k a |x 170909 |y 171031 |z  |3 - |l gcsnb
908 |a .o2042775x
988 |a .o2042775x |c 1 |j grgaf |f b |k a |x 170420 |y  |z  |3 - |l grgaf
908 |a .o10517194
988 |a .o10517194 |c 2 |j ssbnb |f b |k a |x 170402 |y 170528 |z  |3 - |l ssbnb