The river home: an angler's explorations
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : DCA, Inc., 2014.
Format:
eBook
ISBN:
9781940941202 (electronic bk.), 1940941202 (electronic bk.)
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Available Online
Description
In this remarkable collection of essays and stories, winner of the Best Book of the Year Award from the Outdoor Writers Association of America, Jerry Dennis demonstrates why he has emerged as one of America's finest writers on nature and the outdoors. In prose that has drawn comparisons with John Voelker, Sigurd Olson, and Aldo Leopold, Dennis celebrates the simple pleasures and complex challenges of family life, the allure of giant trout, the sacredness of secret places, and such wonders as bad weather, quirky fishing companions, and the occasional naked angler. Ranging from northern Michigan to Iceland, Chile, and the fabled rivers of the American West, "The River Home" is a passionate record of a life lived fully, crafted with clarity, insight, and good humor--by a writer gifted with an instinct for what matters. PRAISE: "This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well." --Lisa Faye Kaplan, "USA Today""Collections of essays about the outdoors and fishing crowd the shelves, but Dennis's fresh writing and marvelous insights merit special attention. This fine collection will appeal to fans of Hal Borland, W.D. Wetherell, and Nick Lyons, as well as to those who enjoy the essays of fiction writers William Tapply and Thomas McGuane." --"Booklist""Even if you've never pulled on a pair of waders, you should read this funny and wise book about fly fishing - and a lot more." --"Georgia Times-Union""In this book, Dennis elevates the typical 'outdoor' essay, usually a mere recollection of adventures while hunting, fishing, camping, canoeing, or pursuing other outdoor activities. He has transcended the typical by blending in elements of 'nature' writing: observation, research, speculation about the world in which the sportsman places himself." --"The Oakland Press"
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Other Editions and Formats
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Dennis, J. (2014). The river home: an angler's explorations. [United States]: DCA, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Dennis, Jerry, 1954-. 2014. The River Home: An Angler's Explorations. [United States]: DCA, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Dennis, Jerry, 1954-, The River Home: An Angler's Explorations. [United States]: DCA, Inc, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Dennis, Jerry. The River Home: An Angler's Explorations. [United States]: DCA, Inc, 2014. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a71ae642-2266-ae12-8f17-576de2a20277
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11582655
titleThe River Home
kindEBOOK
price0.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdated

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 29, 2019 02:54:26 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 12, 2019 11:56:23 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02112nam a22003615a 4500
001MWT11582655
003MWT
00520190511021708.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008160317s2014    xxu    es     000 0 eng d
020 |a 9781940941202 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 1940941202 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT11582655
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/csp_9781940941202_180.jpeg
037 |a 11582655|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest
08204|a 799.1/24/09774|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Dennis, Jerry,|d 1954-|e author.
24514|a The river home :|b an angler's explorations|h [electronic resource].
264 1|a [United States] :|b DCA, Inc.,|c 2014.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a In this remarkable collection of essays and stories, winner of the Best Book of the Year Award from the Outdoor Writers Association of America, Jerry Dennis demonstrates why he has emerged as one of America's finest writers on nature and the outdoors. In prose that has drawn comparisons with John Voelker, Sigurd Olson, and Aldo Leopold, Dennis celebrates the simple pleasures and complex challenges of family life, the allure of giant trout, the sacredness of secret places, and such wonders as bad weather, quirky fishing companions, and the occasional naked angler. Ranging from northern Michigan to Iceland, Chile, and the fabled rivers of the American West, The River Home is a passionate record of a life lived fully, crafted with clarity, insight, and good humor-by a writer gifted with an instinct for what matters.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
60010|a Dennis, Jerry,|d 1954-
650 0|a Fly fishing|z Michigan|v Anecdotes.
650 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11582655|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/csp_9781940941202_180.jpeg