In darkling wood

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Description
For fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Jack Cheng's See You in the Cosmos, here is "a haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption" ( Booklist, Starred Review). When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden--but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: What is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction? Don't miss Emma Carroll's new novel, Strange Star ! ★ " A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. "-- Booklist, Starred Review ★ " A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[ In Darkling Wood ] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism."-- School Library Journal, Starred Review " Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama ...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending. "--Bulletin " Beautifully drawn , and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native Engl∧ this book should win her American fans."- Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
Grouping Title in darkling wood
Grouping Author carroll emma
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-04-16 01:05:33AM
Last Indexed 2019-04-19 05:49:51AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 8
accelerated_reader_reading_level 3.9
author Carroll, Emma, 1970-
author_display Carroll, Emma
available_at_steamboatlibrary SSCL Bud Werner Library, Steamboat Springs Juvenile Collection
detailed_location_steamboatlibrary SSCL Bud Children's, SSCL Bud Youth Services Librarian
display_description When Alice goes to stay with her grandmother she discovers the magical Darkling Wood, where she meets a strange friend and discovers letters written between a brother and sister during WWI.
format_category_steamboatlibrary Books
format_steamboatlibrary Book, Book Club Kit
id 8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
isbn 039955601, 9780399556012, 9780399556029
item_details ils:.b53641590|.i109478125|SSCL Bud Children's|J CARROLL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ssbju||, ils:.b53641590|.i10965450x|Pitkin Children's Room|J FICTION C233in CARROLL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pcjv||, ils:.b53641590|.i109728762|RLD Woodland Park Juvenile Fiction|J CAR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||rlwjf||, ils:.b53641590|.i109778601|Gunnison Juvenile|J Carroll|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||gugju||, ils:.b53641590|.i109779629|MCPLD Central Children's|jF CARROLL Emma|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||mpmj||, ils:.b53641590|.i109779642|MCPLD Fruita Children's|jF CARROLL Emma|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||mpfj||, ils:.b53641590|.i110379822|SD51 Mt Garfield MS Fic|FIC CAR|||1|false|false|||||Billed||mvmgf||, ils:.b53641590|.i124118537|Bemis Children's|J FICTION CARROLL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||bechi||, ils:.b57415031|.i118618106|SSCL Bud Youth Services Librarian|J BOOK CLUB KIT|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ssbyl||
itype_steamboatlibrary Book, Book Club Kit, Juvenile Biography, Juvenile book, Juvenile fiction
last_indexed 2019-04-19T11:49:51.983Z
lexile_score 560
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_steamboatlibrary J BOOK CLUB KIT, J CARROLL
owning_library_steamboatlibrary Steamboat Springs Community Libraries
owning_location_steamboatlibrary SSCL Bud Werner Library, Steamboat Springs Juvenile Collection
primary_isbn 9780399556029
publishDate 2015, 2017
record_details ils:.b53641590|Book|Books|First American edition.|English|Delacorte Press,|[2017]|231 pages ; 22 cm., ils:.b57415031|Book Club Kit|Books||Unknown|Random House,|2015.|1 kit containing 12 books and 1 discussion guide.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_steamboatlibrary
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b53641590 .i109778601 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b53641590 .i10965450x On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b53641590 .i124118537 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b53641590 .i109728762 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b53641590 .i109779642 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b53641590 .i109779629 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b53641590 .i109478125 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 32, 33, 34, 35, 51, 52, 53, 54, 31
ils:.b57415031 .i118618106 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 53
subject_facet , Brothers and sisters, Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction, Bud Werner Memorial Library - Book Buzz kits, Bud Werner Memorial Library - Book Club Kits, Fairies, Fairies -- Fiction, Fairies -- Juvenile fiction, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Juvenile works, Letters, Letters -- Fiction, Letters -- Juvenile fiction, Magic, Magic -- Fiction, Magic -- Juvenile fiction, Science fiction, World War (1914-1918), World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction, World War, 1914-1918 -- Juvenile fiction
title_display In darkling wood
title_full In darkling wood / Emma Carroll, In darkling wood book club kit Carroll, Emma.
title_short In darkling wood
topic_facet Brothers and sisters, Fairies, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Letters, Magic, World War, 1914-1918