As we move toward opening our doors, we are excited to offer expanded curbside hours starting Monday, July 13.
Read more about our expanded curbside pickup.

In darkling wood

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Delacorte Press,
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Edition:
First American edition.
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Jack Cheng's See You in the Cosmos, here is "a haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption" ( Booklist, Starred Review). When Alice is suddenly bundled off to her estranged grandmother Nell's house, there's nothing good about it, except the beautiful Darkling Wood at the end of the garden--but Nell wants to have it cut down. Alice feels at home there, at peace. She even finds a friend, a girl named Flo. But Flo doesn't go to the local school, and no one in town has heard of her. When Flo shows Alice the surprising secrets of Darkling Wood, Alice starts to wonder: What is real? And can she find out in time to save the wood from destruction? Don't miss Emma Carroll's new novel, Strange Star ! ★ " A haunting and poignant exploration of family, loss, and redemption. "-- Booklist, Starred Review ★ " A tale brimming with emotion and atmosphere....[ In Darkling Wood ] is absorbing and well written. Hand this to readers who enjoy fantasy, fairy tales, and magical realism."-- School Library Journal, Starred Review " Magic and mystery adds appeal to this already compelling family drama ...and Carroll manages to wrap all of the threads into a wholly satisfying ending. "--Bulletin " Beautifully drawn , and the pragmatic prose and completely modern language (except for the letters) ground the story. The fairies aren't covered in pixie dust here. Carroll is becoming well-known in her native Engl∧ this book should win her American fans."- Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
Grouping Titlein darkling wood
Grouping Authorcarroll emma
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-07-02 01:17:17AM
Last Indexed2020-07-08 04:19:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value8
accelerated_reader_reading_level3.9
authorCarroll, Emma, 1970-
author_displayCarroll, Emma
available_at_steamboatlibrarySSCL Bud Werner Library
Steamboat Springs Juvenile Collection
detailed_location_steamboatlibrarySSCL Bud Children's
display_descriptionWhen Alice goes to stay with her grandmother she discovers the magical Darkling Wood, where she meets a strange friend and discovers letters written between a brother and sister during WWI.
format_category_steamboatlibraryBooks
format_steamboatlibraryBook
id8094a4f8-30e7-df36-e27b-9b0b1c00b380
isbn9780399556012
9780399556029
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b53641590.i124118537Bemis Children'sJ FICTION CARROLL1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 04, 2019bechi
ils:.b53641590.i110379822SD51 Mt Garfield MS FicFIC CAR1falsefalseBilledDec 12, 2019mvmgf
ils:.b53641590.i109728762RLD Woodland Park Juvenile FictionJ CAR1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 25, 2019rlwjf
ils:.b53641590.i109778601Gunnison JuvenileJ Carroll1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 25, 2019gugju
ils:.b53641590.i10965450xPitkin Children's RoomJ FICTION C233in CARROLL1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 25, 2017pcjv
ils:.b53641590.i109478125SSCL Bud Children'sJ CARROLL1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 15, 2018ssbju
itype_steamboatlibraryJuvenile fiction
last_indexed2020-07-08T10:19:42.928Z
lexile_score560
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_steamboatlibraryJ CARROLL
owning_library_steamboatlibrarySteamboat Springs Community Libraries
owning_location_steamboatlibrarySSCL Bud Werner Library
Steamboat Springs Juvenile Collection
primary_isbn9780399556029
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b53641590BookBooksFirst American edition.EnglishDelacorte Press, [2017]231 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_steamboatlibrary
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b53641590.i109478125On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue32, 33, 34, 51, 52, 165, 53, 166, 54, 167, 168, 31
subject_facet
Brothers and sisters
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction
Fairies
Fairies -- Fiction
Fairies -- Juvenile fiction
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Juvenile works
Letters
Letters -- Fiction
Letters -- Juvenile fiction
Magic
Magic -- Fiction
Magic -- Juvenile fiction
Science fiction
World War (1914-1918)
World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction
World War, 1914-1918 -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayIn darkling wood
title_fullIn darkling wood / Emma Carroll
title_shortIn darkling wood
topic_facetBrothers and sisters
Fairies
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Letters
Magic
World War, 1914-1918