Scrublands: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall , a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller.

In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself.

A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom-that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper-may be wrong.

Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers-missing since the time of the church shootings-are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery.

What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him.

For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 55d6a496-db0e-17e7-f7dc-80827b7dcd17
Grouping Title scrublands
Grouping Author hammer chris
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-04-19 11:54:33AM
Last Indexed 2019-04-19 11:58:33AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Degas, Rupert,
author Hammer, Chris, 1960-
author2-role Degas, Rupert,narrator.
author_display Hammer, Chris
detailed_location_steamboatlibrary SSCL Bud New
display_description "In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom--that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper--may be wrong. Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers--missing since the time of the church shootings--are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him. For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page"-- Welcome to Riversend, an isolated Australian community afflicted by an endless drought. A young priest kills five parishioners before being taken down himself. The story is that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives to describe how the townspeople are coping with the anniversary. When the bodies of two German backpackers-- missing since the time of the church shootings-- are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. Uncovering the town's dark secrets will put his job, his mental state, and his life at risk. -- adapted from publisher info.
format_category_steamboatlibrary Audio Books, Books
format_steamboatlibrary Audio CD, Book
id 55d6a496-db0e-17e7-f7dc-80827b7dcd17
isbn 150119674, 9781501196744, 9781501196751, 9781508277439, 9781508277446
item_details ils:.b58476301|.i122201383|SSCL Bud New|FIC HAMMER|||1|false|false|||||In Transit||ssbnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122232859|Vail Public Library New Fic & Nonfic|FIC HAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||vlnew||, ils:.b58476301|.i122249501|EVLD Avon Public Library|FIC HAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||eva||, ils:.b58476301|.i122252937|Pine River Adult Fiction|F Hammer|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 17, 2019||praf||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285700|MCPLD Clifton New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||Due May 8, 2019||mpcnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285712|MCPLD Fruita New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||Due May 4, 2019||mpfnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285724|MCPLD Central New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||mpmnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285736|MCPLD Palisade New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||Due May 7, 2019||mppnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122296801|SRL Adult Fiction|FIC HAM|||1|false|false|||||Due May 6, 2019||srf||, ils:.b58476301|.i122323439|Pitkin New Book Collection|FICTION H2241sc|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pcnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i124321069|Bemis New Books|FICTION HAMMER,C|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||benew||, ils:.b58476301|.i124583829|Basalt New Book Shelf|F HAM|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 26, 2019||banb||, ils:.b58476301|.i12478964x|GRC Kremmling Adult Fict.|FIC HAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||grkaf||, ils:.b58593731|.i122335910|Pitkin Non-Print Collection|BKCD H2241sc|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pcnp||, ils:.b58593731|.i124587902|MCPLD Central Audio-Vis.|CD Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||Due Apr 27, 2019||mpmav||
itype_steamboatlibrary Adult fiction, Book, Book on CD, Fiction
last_indexed 2019-04-19T17:58:33.958Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_steamboatlibrary FIC HAMMER
local_time_since_added_steamboatlibrary Six Months, Year
owning_library_steamboatlibrary Steamboat Springs Community Libraries
owning_location_steamboatlibrary SSCL Bud Werner Library
primary_isbn 9781501196751
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:.b58476301|Book|Books|First Atria Books hardcover edition.|English|Atria,|2019.|368 pages : map ; 24 cm., ils:.b58593731|Audio CD|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Simon & Schuster Audio,|[2019]|11 audio discs (13.5 hours) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_steamboatlibrary
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b58476301 .i122285736 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122285712 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122285724 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122285700 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i12478964x On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122249501 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122296801 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122201383 Checked Out In Transit false false true false false true 32, 33, 34, 35, 51, 52, 53, 54, 31
ils:.b58593731 .i122335910 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 9999
ils:.b58593731 .i124587902 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false 9999
subject_facet Audiobooks, Australia, Australia -- Fiction, Droughts, Droughts -- Fiction, FICTION / Suspense, FICTION / Thrillers, FICTION / Thrillers / Crime, FICTION / Thrillers / General, FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense, Journalists, Journalists -- Fiction, Mass murder, Mass murder -- Fiction, Murder -- Fiction, Murder -- Investigation, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, Priests -- Fiction, Rural churches -- United States -- Fiction, Rural clergy -- Fiction, Rural conditions -- Fiction, Rural crimes -- Fiction, SUSPENSE, Sound recordings, Sparsely populated areas, Sparsely populated areas -- Fiction, Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display Scrublands
title_full Scrublands / Chris Hammer, Scrublands [sound recording] : a novel / Chris Hammer
title_short Scrublands
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Droughts, FICTION / Suspense, FICTION / Thrillers, FICTION / Thrillers / Crime, FICTION / Thrillers / General, FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense, Investigation, Journalists, Mass murder, Murder, Priests, Rural churches, Rural clergy, Rural conditions, Rural crimes, SUSPENSE, Sparsely populated areas