Scrublands

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Atria,
Pub. Date:
2019.
Edition:
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Language:
English
Description
In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall , a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom--that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper--may be wrong. Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers--missing since the time of the church shootings--are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him. For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 55d6a496-db0e-17e7-f7dc-80827b7dcd17
Grouping Title scrublands
Grouping Author hammer chris
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-01-17 01:09:03AM
Last Indexed 2019-01-17 07:34:01AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hammer, Chris, 1960-
author_display Hammer, Chris
detailed_location_steamboatlibrary SSCL Bud New
display_description "In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom--that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper--may be wrong. Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers--missing since the time of the church shootings--are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him. For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page"-- Welcome to Riversend, an isolated Australian community afflicted by an endless drought. A young priest kills five parishioners before being taken down himself. The story is that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives to describe how the townspeople are coping with the anniversary. When the bodies of two German backpackers-- missing since the time of the church shootings-- are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. Uncovering the town's dark secrets will put his job, his mental state, and his life at risk. -- adapted from publisher info.
format_category_steamboatlibrary Books
format_steamboatlibrary Book
id 55d6a496-db0e-17e7-f7dc-80827b7dcd17
isbn 150119674, 9781501196744, 9781501196751
item_details ils:.b58476301|.i122201383|SSCL Bud New|FIC HAMMER|||1|false|false|||||Due Jan 23, 2019||ssbnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122232859|Vail Public Library New Fic & Nonfic|FIC HAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||vlnew||, ils:.b58476301|.i122249501|EVLD Avon New Books|FIC HAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||evanb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122252937|Pine River Adult Fiction|F Hammer|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||praf||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285700|MCPLD Clifton New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||In Process||mpcnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285712|MCPLD Fruita New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||In Process||mpfnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285724|MCPLD Central New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||In Process||mpmnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122285736|MCPLD Palisade New Book|Fiction HAMMER Chris|||1|false|false|||||In Process||mppnb||, ils:.b58476301|.i122296801|SRL New||||1|false|false|||||In Process||srnew||
itype_steamboatlibrary Adult fiction
last_indexed 2019-01-17T14:34:01.788Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_steamboatlibrary FIC HAMMER
local_time_since_added_steamboatlibrary 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_steamboatlibrary Steamboat Springs Community Libraries
owning_location_steamboatlibrary SSCL Bud Werner Library
primary_isbn 9781501196751
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:.b58476301|Book|Books|First Atria Books hardcover edition.|English|Atria,|2019.|368 pages : map ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_steamboatlibrary
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b58476301 .i122285712 Coming Soon In Process false false true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122285700 Coming Soon In Process false false true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122285736 Coming Soon In Process false false true false false false 9999
ils:.b58476301 .i122201383 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 32, 33, 34, 35, 51, 52, 53, 54, 31
ils:.b58476301 .i122285724 Coming Soon In Process false false true false false false 9999
subject_facet Australia -- Fiction, Droughts -- Fiction, FICTION / Suspense, FICTION / Thrillers, Journalists -- Fiction, Mass murder -- Fiction, Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction, SUSPENSE, Sparsely populated areas -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display Scrublands
title_full Scrublands / Chris Hammer
title_short Scrublands
topic_facet Droughts, FICTION / Suspense, FICTION / Thrillers, Investigation, Journalists, Mass murder, Murder, SUSPENSE, Sparsely populated areas